North / Pas-de-Calais

 

French regional jewellery
Northern coastal (Pas-de-Calais) region

 

BIJOUX REGIONAUX ANCIENS - BIJOU REGIONAL



finely worked Boulogne cross, gold and filigree work

 

Earrings - ear-pendants


Milanos ear pendants, gold, northern coastal region


Milanos ear pendants, gold

 

 

The region between Boulogne sur Mer and Calais is very rich in regional jewellery.  The fishermen had an extrememly dangerous job, compensated for by incomes a good deal higher than most other trades and they liked to show off their success and their membership of a rather closed community.  The traditional ensemble of a fisherman's wife consisted of a pair of long ear pendants called Milanos,pardon cross in gold filigree, a love knot or a Lisbonne ring and a long neck chain called sorcière with a large catch in the shape of a barrel.

The Milanos ear pendants take their name from the idea that they are made of a thousand rings, mille anneaux even though they have less than a dozen segments.  The segments are articulated and very light and give a lovely effect with the movement of the wearer.  They have always been expensive which explains why some women wore a pair of ear pendants which were made of two metal shells stamped with a Milano design and soldered together (shown on the right). They were generally made in gold plate and can look like the real thing from a distance.  Today some jewellers in the north of France sell ear pendants that they call Milanos however their shape is not quite the same as the real Milanos and they are quite crudely made.

Also popular were long ear-pendants called "Les Monstrueuses" as well as others in the shape of a bunch of grapes, acorns or spheres, in gold, very difficult to find nowadays.  The only pair with the grapes motif that I ever managed to buy is now in the MuCEM museum.



ear pendants from
Boulogne sur Mer

 

 

Bijoux boulonnais re


small gold and glass ear pendants from
Le Courgain (the fishing port of Calais)


 


small gold and enamel ear pendants from
Le Courgain (the fishing port of Calais)


 



small gold and turquoise ear pendants from
Le Courgain (the fishing port of Calais)

 



a very rare pair of "bunch of grapes" ear pendants from Courgain in gold
(the small sleeper earrings from which they would have been suspended are missing.  Most women had only one pair or sleepers which were worn permanently and several pair of larger pendants to suspend from the sleepers as the occasion demanded)

Bijoux boulonnais re


gold and turquoise ear pendants from
Le Courgain (the fishing port of Calais)


gold and turquoise ear pendants from
Le Courgain (the fishing port of Calais)


rare pair of ear pendants from
Le Courgain in gold and filigree

 

Don't forget to click on the photos to see them in higher resolution!

 


long ear pendants like those shown above

 

 

 


large ear pendants called "Les cloches d'or" or "Les Monstreuses"

 

 


Carole Bouquet, a French actress wearing Milanos ear pendants

 

 


silver ear pendants from the Boulogne region

 

 

Sorcière chain

An integral part of the regional costume of the women of the Northern coast was the "sorcière" chain.  Very long and made in different links and weights according to the means of the buyer, it was closed with a barrel-shaped catch.


Catch of a sorcière chain in gold

 

 

Rings



The traditional wedding ring in the North of France was the "Turquoise" ring, set with one or more lines of small turquoises.  The traditional  love-knot and Lisbonne rings are still very popular in the region today, many women wear them and they sell well in the local shops.  Unfortunately most of those sold today are copies of copies of copies, made by casting rather than assembly and the fine workmanship is no longer there.

 


"Turquoise" ring in gold set with blue glass imitating turquoises and seed pearls (some missing)

 

 


love-knot ring, silver

 

love-knot ring, gold

 


love-knot ring, silver

 

 

 

 

 


 


snake ring in gold, diamonds & rubies,
particularly popular in the north of France and Normandy


snake ring in gold,
diamonds & rubies




snake ring in gold and sapphire,
particularly popular in the north of France and Normandy
 

 

 

 

 
Lisbonne ring in gold,
  regional jewellery from northern France

Lisbonne ring in gold,
  regional jewellery from northern France

 

The capelet rings, with their motifs of faith, hope and charity (the cross, anchor and heart respectively), were worn by the fishermen as well as by their wives. The oldest ones are found with ten small spheres soldered onto the shank, which served to count the prayers said at night.  The name capelet comes from the fact that these rings were in effect used as truncated rosary beads, "chapelets" in French.  In silver or brass they were often given to the children who accompanied their parents to the jewellers, an expedition called "aller aux dorlots", whilst the jeweller himself was known as the "dorlotier".  According to Lionel Bonnemère (1), these Capelet rings were offered to girls for their first holy communion throughout France; however one tends to come across them more often in the north of France.

 


capelet ring in gold and enamel
 
capelet ring in gold and enamel
 
gold capelet ring
(note the numerous repairs)

 

 


capelet ring in gold

 

The three pansy brooch

 

Traditionaly worn in the north of France, the three pansys brooch represents a thought for the past, a thought for the present and a thought for the future.  (Pansy in French is pensée, which is a synonyme for "thought" or "think". )

 


Three pansy brooch from the north of France, gold and enamel

 

 

The Boulogne cross


The Boulogne cross or pardon cross has a filigree decoration around the crucifix which suggests the ropes of the fishing boats.  These crosses were mainly worn around the Portel region, a fishing area of Boulogne-su-Mer, where they are distinguished by the scallop shells designs at the extremities of the cross.  The crosses from the Calais region are similar, the only difference being that they have little flat gold pearls at the extremities called grelots

It is often said that that the fashion for filigree jewellery was imported from Spain which occupied the region in the 17th century, however jewellery was very rare at that time and one finds no French regional jewellery with filigree from the 17th century.  It is more likely that the techniques of filigree were adopted by the local jewellers after seeing or being asked to copy jewels brought back by sailors or fishermen after stopovers in the gulf of Gascony.  The technique of filigree used is not difficult in fact, one only needs to twist two gold wires together, pass them through a roller to flatten them a bit, wind them into a design and then fix the design with a few spots of solder.  The older pardon crosses have three pendants, by about 1820 the crosses evolved by having only one pendant.  An example in the collection of the MuCEM at Marseille, inventory number 1991.24.1 which is dated to between 1809 and 1819 still has three pendants.  Crosses with three pendants are very hard to find today.

 

 

                   
18th century Portel or pardon cross, gold
Note the three pendants, representing the tears of Christ


  cross from Le Portel or pardon cross, gold-plated brass in its original box

 

 

 


  cross from Le Portel
or pardon cross, gold

cross from Calais
or pardon cross, gold

cross from Calais
or pardon cross, gold

 

 


  cross from Le Portel
or pardon cross, gold

cross from Le Portel
or pardon cross, gold

cross from Calais
or pardon cross, gold

 

 


cross from Le Portel
or pardon cross, gold

cross from Boulogne sur Mer
or pardon cross, gold

cross from Boulogne sur Mer
(modern) or pardon cross, gold

 

  


cross from Le Portel
or pardon cross, gold


cross from Le Portel
or pardon cross, gold


cross from Calais
or pardon cross, gold

 

  


  cross from Le Portel
or pardon cross, silver gilt
  
cross from Le Portel
or pardon cross, gold

cross from Calais
or pardon cross, gold

 

 

 

 

 


 pardon cross in plated gold

 

 

 

There is an interesting early variety of the pardon cross, examples of which are found exclusively in Belgium, though they are sometimes marked with French hallmarks.  The reason is that some of them were made in Belgium during the time it was occupied by France between 1793 and 1815.

 

         
Two Belgian pardon crosses in gold with French rooster's head hallmarks on one, Belgian hallmark from 1770 on the other

Bijoux boulonnais regional

 

Flemish papillon (butterfly) cross

 

These papillon (butterfly) crosses, though made in Belgium, were also worn in the north of France and even in Normandy.  (It's worth bearing in mind that Belgium was a province of France between 1793 and 1815)  In Belgium they are known as "croix à la Jeannette", however I have yet to come across one in France with legible hallmarks which would help in determining their exact region of production.  They are made in silver set with rose cut diamonds and backed with a thin coating of gold to prevent the silver from blackening one's clothes.  Their design is in fact quite different from the provençale papillon crosses, though many people confuse them with the latter.


  papillon cross, c1800-1840
  in gold, silver & diamonds

papillon cross, c1800-1840
 in gold, silver & diamonds

    papillon cross
  in gold, silver & diamond
s

  

 

Vlaamse Hart pendant

 

Vlaamse Hart pendants originated in Antwerp at the end of the eighteenth century and are made in gold-backed silver set with rose-cut diamonds.  The majority were produced between 1780 and 1850.   Examination of the 38 examples in the treasury of the Antwerp churches reveals that 10 have no hallmarks, 6 were made in southern Belgium during the Dutch rule, 14 in Mechelen, 7 in Antwerp and one in Ghent.  The name Vlaamse hart translates to “Flemish heart” and they represent the heart of Mary.  There are two types of Vlaamse hart pendants; one has a simple wreath set above the lower half, see left-hand photo, while the other, which was offered as a love token, is crowned with a bow and a quiver, a flaming torch and some foliage.  They were worn sometimes in the north of France and I have come across several in Normandy as well.   1

 

 

 


"Vlaamse hart" pendant in gold-backed silver and diamonds
 
"Vlaamse hart" pendant in gold-backed silver and diamonds

 
 
"Vlaamse hart" pendant in gold-backed silver and diamonds
(central diamond missing)

 

 

Belt clip for scissors from the north of France

 

              
Silver belt clip for hanging scissors, 18th century with Lille hallmark

 

         

The coal miners in the north of France were particularly fond of these steel cases which they used to protect their silver pocket watches
from damage while working.  While not strictly speaking regional jewellery, 95% of these watches were offered to me in the north of France. 
This particular example has been painted with phosphorescent paint so that the time can be determined in the dark.

 

 

 


  French folk costume with very long
ear pendants and soleil coiffe - Boulogne-sur-Mer - antique photo

 

 


  French folk costume with very long
ear pendants and soleil coiffe - Pas de Calais region - antique photo

 

 

 


  French folk costume with very long ear pendants
and soleil coiffe - Pas de Calais region - antique postcard

 

 

 


  French folk costume with very long Milanos
ear pendants and soleil coiffe - Pas de Calais region - antique photo

 

 

 

 

 


  French folk costume from Boulogne-sur-Mer with very long
ear pendants and soleil coiffe - Pas de Calais region - antique postcard

 


 


French folk-costume from Le Portel, Pas de Calais region
showing "le Toquet" coiffe, sorcière chain and Milanos ear-pendants.
One can see at her throat the traditionel three pansy brooch.  The word for pansy in French, "pensée", is synonyme with "think"
and the brooch represents "think of the past, think of the present and think of the future".

 

 

 

/ckfinder/userfiles/images/grands/cpa-costume-regional-bijou-equihen.jpg
French folk-costume from Equihen, Pas de Calais region
showing sun coiffe, sorcière chain and "Monstreuses" ear-pendants

 

 

/ckfinder/userfiles/images/grands/cpa-costume-regional-bijou-equihen.jpg
French folk-costume from Etaples, Pas de Calais region
showing sun coiffe, sorcière chain and "grape" ear-pendants

 

 

 


French regional jewellery, 'Milanos' ear pendants
and 'sorcière' chain, Pas de Calais region

 
 

 


French regional jewellery, 'Milanos' ear pendants
and 'sorcière' chain, Pas de Calais region

 

 


French regional jewelry, 'Milanos' ear pendants
and 'sorcière' chain, Pas de Calais region

 

 


French regional jewelry, 'Milanos' ear pendants
and 'sorcière' chain, Pas de Calais region

 

 


French regional jewellery, 'Milanos' ear pendants
and 'sorcière' chain, Pas de Calais region

 

 


  French folk dress with Milanos ear pendants,
long neck chain with pardon cross,  Pas de Calais region

 

 


Antique photo of woman in Boulogne-sur-Mer wearing the traditional pansy brooch,
Milanos ear pendants, sorcière chain with pardon cross and the sun coiffe.

 

 

 


  French folk dress with Milanos ear pendants,
long neck chain with pardon cross,  Pas de Calais region

 

 


fisherman's wife with sorcière chain, pardon cross and Milanos ear pendants

 

 

1: Uit de sacristie - Textiel en juwelen in kerkelijk bezit in de provincie Antwerpen, Provincial Museum voor Kunstambachten Sterkshof, 1985   

 

Contact me with your suggestions, corrections, questions and comments!

 

1.   Lionel Bonnemere, 1843-1905, Playwright, lawyer, collector of folklore and traditional jewellery, the donation of his extensive collection formed the basis of the fledgling Musée des Arts et Traditions Populaires in Paris

 

contentrs: 
 

croix de Boulogne - boucles d'oreilles Milanos - pendants d'oreilles Milanos - bague Lisbonne - bague noeud d'amour - chaine sorcière - croix de pardon - bijoux boulonnais - coiffe soleil - costume de matelotte - bague capelet - croix de Champagne - croix d'Alsace - broche alsacienne - croix de Lorraine - bijoux des régions de France - les bijoux des Français - les  bijoux de France - bijoux régionaux - bijou régional - croix écotée - pendentif Saint Esprit - Saint Esprit d'Aurillac - rose de Velay - collier d'esclavage - croix de Puy en Velay  - croix d'Auvergne - bijoux d'Auvergne - bijoux auvergnat - collier Saint Esprit de Puy en Velay - croix de Velay - bijoux d'Auvergne et du Velay - costume regional - bijoux régionaux - coiffe  - coiffe auvergnat - bijoux des régions de France - bijoux régionaux - les bijoux traditionnels Français - croix régionales - Léon Giron - Antoine Raspal - Thomas Desgeorge - Estella Canziani - esclavage auvergnat - French regional jewellery – jewelry - French traditional jewellery – jewelry - French folk-dress - French folk costumes - antique French jewellery - les bijoux de France - les bijoux des Français - Vlaamse hart- antieke zeeuwse streeksieraden in Friesland - Streeksieraden en Zeeland - Vlaamse Hart - Brabantse klederdrachten en streeksieraden

 

BIJOUX REGIONAUX ANCIENS - BIJOU REGIONAL

 

French regional jewellery
Northern coastal (Pas-de-Calais) region

Nord / Pas-de-Calais

Nord, Pas de Calais - bijoux boulonnais

- boucles d'oreilles Milanos

BIJOUX REGIONAUX ANCIENS - BIJOU REGIONAL

 


Croix de pardon, Le Portel, or, bijou régional boulonnais, (agrandi 200%)

cliquez sur photos pour les agrandir en haute résolution

 

Bijoux boulonnais regional

Les pendants d'oreille Milanos


Pendants d'oreille Milanos, or articulé


Pendants d'oreille Milanos, or articulé

 

- boucles d'oreilles Milanos

 

La région entre Boulogne sur Mer et Calais est très riche en bijoux régionaux.  Les pêcheurs avaient un métier extrêmement risqué avec en compensation des revenus plus importants que certains autres métiers et aimaient bien afficher leur succès et également affirmer leur appartenance à une communauté assez fermée. La parure traditionnelle d'une femme de matelot consistait d'une paire de pendants d'oreille Milanos, grappe de raisin ou boules, une croix de pardon en filigrane, une bague nœud d'amour ou Lisbonne et une longue chaine dîte sorcière avec un grand fermoir en forme de barillet. 

Les pendants d'oreille Milanos prennent leur nom de l'idée qu'ils consistent de mille anneaux, bien qu'il n'y en ait même pas une dizaine.  Les segments sont articulés et l'ensemble est très léger, donnant un joli effet avec le mouvement du porteur.   Ils ont toujours été chers et certaines femmes portaient des pendants d'oreille qui ressemblent aux Milanos mais qui sont en fait deux simples coquilles avec un dessin de chaque côté soudés ensemble (illustrés à droit). De loin ils peuvent se confondre avec des vrais Milanos et ils étaient souvent faits en plaqué d'or.   Aujourd'hui certains bijoutiers dans le nord de la France proposent des pendants d'oreille qu'ils appellent Milanos mais ils sont assez différent des vrais Milanos anciens et de fabrication grossier.


Les matelotes affectionnaient également des longues pendants d'oreille appelées "Les Monstrueuses", "Les Cloches d'or" ou "Goudse Klokken" (en flamand) et d'autres en forme de grappes de raisins, de glands ou de boules, très difficiles à retrouver aujourd'hui.


Pendants d'oreille
boulonnais Milanos

 

Les pendants d'oreille des Courguinois des

Bijoux boulonnais re

 


Petits pendants d'oreille du Courgain
(un quartier de Calais)
en or et verre bleu imitant le tourquoise



 


Petits pendants d'oreille du Courgain
(un quartier de Calais)
en or et email bleu


 



Petits pendants d'oreille du Courgain
(un quartier de Calais) en or et tourquoise

 

 



Rare pendants d'oreille "grappes de raisin" du Courgain en or

Les petites boucles d'oreilles dormeuses dont elles auraient été suspendues sont manquantes. La plupart des femmes n'avaient qu'une paire des dormeuses qui été portées de façon permanente et plusieurs paires de plus grands pendentifs pour suspendre des dormeurs selon l'occasion.

Bijoux boulonnais re


Pendants d'oreille du Courgain
en or et tourquoise


Pendants d'oreille du Courgain
en or et tourquoise


Pendants d'oreille du Courgain
en or garnie de filigrane

 


Costume boulonnais avec longs pendants d'oreille

 

 

 

/ckfinder/userfiles/images/grands/cpa-costume-regional-bijou-equihen.jpg
Bijoux régionaux - grandes pendants d'oreille dites  "Cloches d'or " ou "Monstreuses"
avec sautoir sorcière, coiffe soleil.  Equihen, carte postale

 

 

Le Courguinois

"Le Cougionois à la barbe en collier, le gilet de laine bleu, la casquette de cuir à deux visières, la grande ceinture rouge ou rayée, roulée autour des reins.  Les femmes, le dimanche, portent encore le ravissant costume, dont leurs aieules se revêtaient au quinzième siècle.  Un bonnet de linge fin, garni de tulle et de dentelles, tuyauté en eventail de soixante centimètres de diamètre, encadre leur visage bruni par le vent du mer, et leurs noirs bandeaux écartés par une raie droite.  Un tablier de soie tombe sur leurs jupes violettes et un fichu de même étoffe dessiné comme les châles de l'Inde orne leur corsage.  De longues boucles d'oreille à grandes palmettes frangées descendent en scintillant jusqu'a leurs épaules et une belle chaîne d'or en complète leur originale toilette, qui les rend, ma foi, tout à fait jolies. " (1)

 


Pendants d'oreille "Les cloches d'or" ou Les Monstreuses"

 

 


Une actrice (Carole Bouquet) avec pendants d'oreille Milanos

 

 


Pendants d'oreille boulonnaise en argent

 

 

La chaine "sorcière"

 

 

 

Une partie intégrale du costume des femmes de la côte nord était la chaine dite "sorcière".  Très longue et faite en différent mailles et poids selon les moyens des acheteurs, il était garnie d'un fermoir barillet dont la forme ressemble, pour certains, à un tonneau.


Fermoir barillet en or de chaine sorcière, maille jaseron

 

 

Les bagues

Bijoux boulonnais regiona

La bague de fiançailles traditionnelle au XIXème siècle était la bague turquoise, avec un ou plusieurs lignes de turquoises ou verre bleu imitant les turquoises.  Les bagues nœud d'amour et Lisbonne sont encore très populaires dans la région, beaucoup de femmes les portent tous les jours et les magasins locaux les vendent bien.  Les neuf boules sur les bagues nœud d'amour sont censées représenter les neuf mois de grossesse et ces bagues sont souvent passées de mère en fille.  Malheureusement les bagues nœud d'amour et Lisbonne vendues aujourd'hui sont souvent des copies des copies des copies, faites par moulage, et la finesse de travail des originales n'est plus là.

 


Bague "turquoise" en or avec verre bleu imitant les turquoises et perles (manques)

 

 

 

Bagues nœud d'amour


Bague noeud d'amour, argent
bijou régional boulonnais

Bague noeud d'amour, or
bijou régional boulonnais

Bague noeud d'amour, argent
bijou régional boulonnais

 


 

Bagues serpent

 


 


Bague serpent en or, diamant et rubis,
populaire dans le nord, le pas de Calais et Normandie

 


Bague serpent en or,
diamant et rubis





Bague serpent en or et saphir,
populaire dans le nord, le pas de Calais et Normandie
 

 

 

Bagues Lisbonne

Bagues Lisbonnes en or, bijou régional du nord de la France

 

 

- boucles d'Bagues capeletoreilles Milanos

Les bagues capelet, avec les motifs de foi, espérance et charité (respectivement la croix, l'ancre et le cœur) étaient portées par des femmes et également par des matelots.  Les plus anciennes sont faits avec dix petites boules sur l'anneau, qui servaient à décompter les prières faites la nuit.  Le nom capelet vient du fait que ces bagues 'dizaine' servaient comme petite chapelet.  En argent ou laiton, elles étaient souvent offertes aux enfants s'ils accompagnaient leurs parents pour acheter des bijoux, aller aux dorlots.  Le bijoutier était appelé le dorlotier, et les longues boucles d'oreilles sont encore aujourd'hui appelées 'les dorlots'.  Selon Lionel Bonnemére (3), les bagues Capelet étaient offerts aux petites filles pour leur permière communion dans toute la France, cependant on les rencontre plus souvent dans le nord.


Bague capelet dizaine en or et email
 
Bague capelet dizaine en or et email
 
   Bague capelet en or
(à noter les nombreuses réparations)

 

 


Bague capelet en or

 

 

La broche trois pensées

 

Traditionnellement portée dans le Nord de la France, les trois pensées sur ces broches représentent une pensée pour le passé, une pensée pour le présent et une pensée pour le futur.

 


Broche trois pensées en or et email

 

 

La croix de Boulogne ou croix de pardon

 

La croix de Boulogne ou croix de pardon a une décoration en filigrane d'or autour du crucifix faite pour rappeler les cordages des bateaux.  Les croix de pardon ont surtout éte portées au Portel et a Boulogne sur Mer, et elles sont décorées de coquilles Saint Jacques aux extrémités, tandis que celles de Calais se distinguent par de petites perles aux extrémités appelées grelots.  Les plus anciennes ont trois pendeloques pour répresenter les larmes du Christ; au 19ème siècle les deux pendeloques du côté ont été supprimés.  Il est souvent dit que la mode pour les filigranes a été importée par les Espagnols qui ont occupé la région au 17éme siècle, mais on ne rencontre pas des bijoux régionaux avec filigrane du 17ème siècle.  Il est plus probable que quelques achats faits par les matelots pour leurs femmes lors de leurs escales dans le golfe de Gascogne ont incité les bijoutiers locaux à adopter les techniques de filigrane.  En effet, le travail n'est pas difficile pour un bijoutier, il suffit de torsader deux fils d'or ensemble puis de les passer entre deux rouleaux pour les aplatir un peu. Ensuite on fait des motifs avec les fils et on les attache enfin avec quelques points de soudure.  Les croix les plus anciennes ont trois pendeloques, à partir d'environ 1820 on ne retrouve qu'une seule pendeloque.  Une croix dans la collection du MuCEM avec numéro d'inventaire 1991.24.1 et datée entre 1809-1819 comporte encore trois pendeloques. 

 

 

                   
Croix du Portel ou croix de pardon du 18ème siècle, or
A noter les trois pendeloques, dont deux ont été supprimés sur les croix du 19ème siècle

 

 

 


Croix du Portel
ou croix de pardon, métal doré, dans son ecrin d'origine

 

 


Croix du Portel
ou croix de pardon, vermeil

Croix de Calais
ou croix de pardon, or

Croix de Calais
ou croix de pardon, or

 

 


Croix du Portel
ou croix de pardon, vermeil

Croix du Portel
ou croix de pardon, or

Croix de Calais
ou croix de pardon, or

 

 


Croix de Portel
ou croix de pardon, or

Croix de Portel
ou croix de pardon, or

Croix de Portel, moderne
ou croix de pardon, or

 

  


Croix du Portel
ou croix de pardon, or

 

Croix du Portel
ou croix de pardon, or

 

Croix de Calais
ou croix de pardon, or

 

Bijoux boulonnais regional

 


Croix du Portel
ou croix de pardon, vermeil

Croix du Portel
ou croix de pardon, or

Croix de Calais
ou croix de pardon, or

Bijoux boulonnais regional

 

 

 

 


Croix de pardon en plaqué or

 

 

 

 

Il existe une variété précoce des croix de pardon dont on trouve des exemplaires exclusivement en Belgique, bien qu'elles soient souvent pourvues de poinçons français.  En effet certaines ont été faites en Belgique pendant l'occupation française entre 1793 et 1815.

 

         
Croix de pardon flamandes en or, poinçons tête de coq sur une, poinçon belge de 1770 sur l'autre.

Bijoux boulonnais regional

 

La croix papillon de Flandres

 

Ces croix papillons, bien que d'origine Flamand, étaient également portées dans le nord de la France et même en Normandie.  (Il convient de se rappeler que la Belgique était une province française entre 1793 et 1815)  En Belgique ils sont connus sous le nom "croix à la Jeannette"; je n'ai pas encore trouvé une en France avec un poinçon permettant de mieux identifier le lieu et date de fabrication. Elles sont faites en argent serties de diamants et ont une fine couche d'or au dos pour les empêcher de noircir les vêtements.  Souvent attribués au sud de la France en les confondant avec les croix papillons provençales, ces croix sont différents et bien flamandes.


    Croix papillon flamande, c1800-1840
 en or, argent et diamants

 


Croix papillon flamande, c1800-1840
 en or, argent et diamants


    Croix papillon flamande
 en or, argent et diamants

Bijoux boulonnais regional

 

Le pendentif Vlaamse Hart

 

Les pendentifs Vlaamse Hart sont nés à Anvers vers la fin du 18ème siècle et sont faits en argent sur or, sertis de diamants roses. Les pluparts ont été fabriqué entre 1780 et 1850.   Sur 38 exemples dans les trésors des églises d'Anvers, 10 sont dépourvus de poinçons, 6 sont de Belgique de sud, 14 de Mechelen, 7 d'Anvers et un de Gand.  “Vlaamse Hart” se traduit par “cœur flamand” et les pendentifs représentent le cœur de Marie.  Il existe deux sortes de Vlaamse Hart: un est représenté par une simple couronne de fleurs sur la partie supérieure, tandis que l’autre, qui était offert comme gage d’amour, est décoré avec un arc, un carquois de flèches, une torche brulante et parfois des branches.  Ils étaient souvent portés dans le nord de la France et j’ai même retrouvé plusieurs exemples en Normandie.  (Il convient de se rappeler que la Belgique était une province française entre 1793 et 1815)  (2)

 

 

 



Pendentif Vlaamse hart en argent et diamants
avec attributs d'amour

 

Pendentif Vlaamse hart en or, argent et diamants

 
 
Pendentif Vlaamse hart en or, argent et diamants
avec attributs d'amour (diamant central manquant)

Bijoux boulonnais regioBijoux boulonnais region

N'oubliez pas de cliquer sur les photos pour les voir en haute résolution!

 

         

Les mineurs de charbon dans le Nord affectionnaient particulièrement les étuis en acier pour
protéger leurs montres en argent contre les coups pendant le travail.  Bien que n'étant pas strictement régionaux, 
95% des montres dans ces étuis m'ont été proposés dans le Nord. La montre ici a été peinte avec de la peinture phosphorescent


 

 

 

 


Costume boulonnais avec longs pendants d'oreille type
'cloches d'or' et
coiffe soleil - Boulogne-sur-Mer  - photo ancienne

 


Costume boulonnais avec longs pendants d'oreille
coiffe soleil - région Pas de Calais  - photo ancienne

 

 

 


Costume boulonnais avec longs pendants d'oreille Milanos
coiffe soleil - région Pas de Calais  - photo ancienne

 

 

 


Costume boulonnais avec longs pendants d'oreille
coiffe soleil - région Pas de Calais  - photo ancienne

 

 

 


Costume boulonnais avec longs pendants d'oreille
coiffe soleil - région Pas de Calais  - carte postale ancienne

 

 

Bijoux boulonnais regional

 


Porteloise avec pendants d'oreille Milanos, sautoir sorcière et coiffe le Toquet
On remarque autour du cou la traditionnelle broche aux trois pensées : "pensez du passé,
pensez du présent et pensez au futur".  Le Portel, carte postale

 

 

 

/ckfinder/userfiles/images/grands/cpa-costume-regional-bijou-equihen.jpg
Bijoux régionaux - grandes pendants d'oreille dites  "grappes de raisin"
avec sautoir sorcière, coiffe soleil.  Etaples, carte postale

 

Bijoux boulonnais regional


Bijoux régionaux : pendants d'oreille Milanos
avec sautoir sorcière, coiffe soleil.  Région Pas de Calais, carte postale

 

Bijoux boulonnais regional

 


Bijoux régionaux :  pendants d'oreille Milanos, 
sautoir sorcière et coiffe soleil.  Région Pas de Calais

 

Bijoux boulonnais regional

 


Bijoux régionaux : pendants d'oreille Milanos
avec coiffe soleil.  Région Pas de Calais

Bijoux boulonnais regional

 


Bijoux régionaux : pendants d'oreille Milanos, 
sautoir sorcière et coiffe soleil.  Région Pas de Calais

Bijoux boulonnais regional

 


Bijoux régionaux : pendants d'oreille Milanos, 
sautoir sorcière et coiffe soleil.  Région Pas de Calais

Bijoux boulonnais regional

Bijoux boulonnais regional


Bijoux régionaux - pendants d'oreille Milanos, 
sautoir sorcière avec croix de pardon et coiffe soleil.  Région Pas de Calais

Bijoux boulonnais regional

 


Bijoux régionaux dans photo ancienne - pendants d'oreille Milanos, 
broche pensée, sautoir sorcière avec croix de pardon et coiffe soleil.  Boulogne-sur-Mer

 

 

 


Bijoux régionaux - pendants d'oreille Milanos, 
sautoir sorcière avec broche camée - matelote de Dunkerque

Bijoux boulonnais regional

 

 


Matelotte avec sautoir dit sorcière, croix de pardon et pendants d'oreille Milanos

 

1:    Peltereau-Villeneuve; Imprimerie Saint-Pierre, 1925

2:   Uit de sacristie - Textiel en juwelen in kerkelijk bezit in de provincie Antwerpen, Provincial Museum voor Kunstambachten Sterkshof, 1985   

3:    Lionel Bonnemère, 1843-1905, Folkloriste, dramaturge, avocat et collectionneur de bijoux traditionnels et art populaire.

 

Contactez-moi avec vos suggestions, corrections, photos, questions et commentaires!

Bijoux boulonnais regional

 

contenu:
 

croix de Boulogne - boucles d'oreilles Milanos - pendants d'oreilles Milanos - bague Lisbonne - bague noeud d'amour - chaine sorcière - croix de pardon - bijoux boulonnais - coiffe soleil - costume de matelotte - bague capelet - croix de Champagne - croix d'Alsace - broche alsacienne - croix de Lorraine - bijoux des régions de France - les bijoux des Français - les  bijoux de France - bijoux régionaux - bijou régional - croix écotée - pendentif Saint Esprit - Saint Esprit d'Aurillac - rose de Velay - collier d'esclavage - croix de Puy en Velay  - croix d'Auvergne - bijoux d'Auvergne - bijoux auvergnat - collier Saint Esprit de Puy en Velay - croix de Velay - bijoux d'Auvergne et du Velay - costume regional - bijoux régionaux - coiffe  - coiffe auvergnat - bijoux des régions de France - bijoux régionaux - les bijoux traditionnels Français - croix régionales - Léon Giron - Antoine Raspal - Thomas Desgeorge - Estella Canziani - esclavage auvergnat - French regional jewellery – jewelry - French traditional jewellery – jewelry - French folk-dress - French folk costumes - antique French jewellery - les bijoux de France - les bijoux des Français - Streeksieraden en Zeeland Friesland - Vlaamse Hart

BIJOUX REGIONAUX ANCIENS - BIJOU REGIONAL

 

Bijoux des régions de France - Nord, Pas de Calais - bijoux boulonnais