Picardy

French regional jewelry - Picardy

 

The Amiens cross

             
Amiens cross in silver

 


Amiens cross in silver

 

 

 

The Picardy cross - la croix de Picardy

 

 


Picardy cross in
gold, set with table cut diamonds

Picardy cross with slide in
gold, set with rose cut diamonds
 

Picardy cross with slide in
gold, set with table cut diamonds

 

 


Picardy cross in gold, set with rose cut diamonds


 


 


Picardy cross
in silver set with rose cut diamonds

Picardy cross
in gold and silver set with rose cut diamonds

 


I've frequently found these crosses, which I've provisionally called "Picardy crosses", in the region running from Compiègne as far north as Lille and as far west as Amiens, but never on the coast where the Boulogne and other Flemish crosses dominate.  They are the same as the Flemish crosses made and worn in southern Belgium, where they are relatively common and while they exist perhaps in other regions of France, I've not come across any others at this time apart from one found in Vierzon. They are similar to a silver and quartz cross in the musée national des arts et traditions populaires, inventory n° 1901-1-82 purchased for Lionel Bonnemère in Marseille before 1901, though he considered it to be already old when it was bought. One should consider them as Belgian crosses that were adopted in this part of France, bearing in mind that Flanders was occupied by France at the time they were produced and worn.  Examples in silver have been identified with the boar's head hallmark, proving that some at least were made in Paris, though they are likely to to be later re-editions.

 


woman from Picardy with cross by Jean Louis Elshoecht, (1760 - 1841), painted circa 1805,
The Bowes Museum, England

 

 

,
Jean Louis Elshoecht (1760 - 1841), woman from Picardy with cross (detail), painted around 1805,
reproduced by kind permission of The Bowes Museum, England

 

 


woman from Picardy with cross by Jean Louis Elshoecht (1760 - 1841), painted 1805,
by kind permission of The Bowes Museum, England

 

 


woman from Picardy with cross (detail) by Jean Louis Elshoecht (1760 - 1841), painted 1805,
reproduced by kind permission of The Bowes Museum, England

 

 


silver cross worn in Normandy
painting displayed in the musée des traditions et arts normands, Martainville

 

 


   Flemish cross in gold & silver, set with rose cut diamonds
note how the slide is the same as those on the Belgian Jeannette crosses
Collected in Vierzon

 

 

 

La croix de Liesse - the Liesse cross

The basilica of Liesse was an important centre of pilgrimage since the twelfth century and Our Lady of Liesse was actively worshipped in Normandy and other parts of France.  In the eighteenth century a jeweller in the town of Liesse, in Picardy, Mr. Bailly, exported large numbers of crosses to Normandy.  Marguerite Bruneau in her book Histoire du Costume Populaire en Normandie, tome 1, gives details on how much money some bankrupt jewellers in Normandy owed to Mr. Bailly and the figures are quite considerable.  (1)

We know very little about the Liesse cross.  Many were exported to other regions and yet none is mentioned under that name in the wills and documents that we can examine.  It is likely that examples of the cross exist but are at the moment known by different names.  A nineteenth century description of the cross gives us a few clues – “It was a badly stamped cross made in two halves, the upper and lower parts very thin.  The settings and raised parts were filled with plaster which gave it rigidity and weight.  This cross was inexpensive and was made almost exclusively in silver.  It was made mainly in Paris.” (2)

 

We can assume that if the jewellers in other regions imported these crosses, it was because the manufacturer had a commercial advantage and could make them cheaper than his clients.  This would be the case if the crosses were stamped, as the material required to make them is expensive and requires large production runs to be amortised.


medal from Notre Dame de Liesse, bronz

 


cross from Notre Dame de Liesse, bronze

 


medal from Notre Dame de Liesse, gold

 

 

 


pilgrim's cross from Notre Dame de Liesse in brass, reverse
 
pilgrim's cross from Notre Dame de Liesse in brass, obverse

 

 

 

         
pilgrim's cross from Notre Dame de Liesse in brass, obverse and reverse

 

 

 

The only crosses that seem to fit this description are the papillon cross, the Picardy cross and the bosse cross.  The former is indeed found in other parts of France, even in the south, while the latter is certainly inexpensive when in silver and filled with plaster, though I have not found any outside of Picardy for the moment.  Marguerite Bruneau, in her book "Les Bijoux Normands", leans towards the bosse cross, though this cross is found very occasionally in other regions. (3)  The problem is that despite several books mentionning bosse crosses filled with plaster or horse-hair, I haven't come across a single filled one, and I have to conclude that that if any bosse crosses filled with plaster exist, that they were so modified by their owner and not by the jeweller. For example, not a single bosse cross in the collection of the museum of Martainville is filled. 

If I had to lean one way, I would go for the papillon cross, which is common in the south of France and yet virtually identical to those found in the south of Belgium.  It is likely that a jeweller in Liesse, faced with a demand from pilgrims, would copy a southern Belgian cross already locally popular and that these crosses would spread throughout the country around the necks of pilgrims.  Any information you might have to clear up this mystery is welcome.  PM


    papillon cross
  in gold, silver & diamond
s


bosse cross in gold
 


Picardy cross with slide in
gold, set with rose cut diamonds

  

 

It's interesting however to observe the evolution of the Flemish butterfly cross (croix papillon or croix à la Jeannette) with time.  The third cross shown below has the form of the Picardy cross yet it has retained a reduced version of the upper section of the papillon cross.  The next cross has a slide which has evolved to retain only the diamond-set cone from the previous version.  Perhaps there never was a single Liesse cross but a succession of crosses which changed to follow the fashion of the time......


Flemish butterfly cross,
c1800-1840, gold,
silver and diamonds


 Flemish butterfly cross,
c1800-1840, gold,
silver and diamonds


"provencale" cross
collection musée national
du château de Malmaison


Picardy cross with slide
in gold, set with
table-cut diamonds

Picardy cross with slide
in gold, set with
rose-cut diamonds

 

 

The history of the basilica of Our Lady of Liesse is extremely interesting, you can click here for a link to their website.

 

 

(1): -  François Drouet, marchand orfèvre à Doudouville doit 1.177 livres (1789)
       -  Pierre Maloiselle, marchand bijoutier d'Ivril la Chausée doit 522 livres (1789)
       -  François Joutel, laboureur-bijoutier à Bretteville en Caux doit 1284 livres (1786)
       -  Vincent Coignard, marchgand orfèvre bijoutier à Rouen doit 1284 livres (1786)
          9 UP2 à p6 Archives Départementales de la Seine Maritime

(2):   Lettre citée par E. Colin dans "Le mois à Caen".  8e année n°80.

(3):   BRUNEAU, Marguerite., Les bijoux normands, Cercle d'action et d'études normandes, 1976     *****

 

 

 

contents::

Croix picarde, croix de Picardie, bijou régional, bijoux régionaux, Jean Louis Elshoecht, les bijoux traditionnels Français, bijoux des régions de France, croix de Rouen, croix bosse, croix régionale, bijoux picards, traditional French jewellery, jewelry, French regional jewellery, croix Jeannette, Marguerite Bruneau, croix de Liesse- antieke zeeuwse streeksieraden in zeeland friesland - Brabantse klederdrachten en streeksieraden

 

 

French regional jewelry - Picardy

Picardie

Bijoux des régions de France - bijoux picards

 

La croix d'Amiens

             
croix d'Amiens en argent

 

 



croix d'Amiens en argent

 

La croix dîte de Picardie

 

 


croix de Picardie,
or et diamants taillés en table
    
croix picarde avec coulant,
or et diamants taillés en rose

croix picarde avec coulant,
or et diamants taillés en table

 

cliquez sur photos pour les agrandir en haute résolution

 

 


croix de Picardie, or et diamants taillés en rose
 

 


    Croix picarde, en or, argent et diamants
on remarque que le coulant est bien celui des croix flamandes "à la Jeannette".
Collectée à Vierzon....

 

 


croix picarde, argent et diamants

croix de Picardie, or, argent et diamants

 

J'ai fréquemment retrouvé ces croix, que j'ai nommées "croix picardes" (à débattre), dans la région allant de Compiègne jusqu'à Lille en passant par Amiens, mais jamais sur la côte nord où les croix de Boulogne et de la Flandre dominent.  Des croix identiques (croix flamandes) ont été fabriquées et portée en Belgique, ou elles sont assez courante.  Elles sont également similaires à une croix dite provençale dans la musée national des arts et traditions populaires (désormais Mucem), inventaire n° 01-1-82 en argent et quartz acheté par Lionel Bonnemère à Marseille avant 1901.  Notez la méthode d'assemblage; les petits hémisphères de la partie basse sont repliés sur les cônes de la partie haute sans soudure.  On doit considérer ces croix comme des croix flamandes adoptées dans la région de Picardie, en se rappelant qu’à l'époque qu'elles ont été faites et portées, leur lieu de production était occupé par la France.

 

 

 

 


Jean Louis Elshoecht (1760 - 1841), une femme de Picardie avec croix picarde, peint vers 1805,
The Bowes Museum, Angleterre

 

 


détail de croix picarde, peint par Jean Louis Elshoecht (1760 - 1841) vers 1805,
The Bowes Museum, Angleterre


 

 


Jean Louis Elshoecht (1760 - 1841), une femme de Picardie avec croix picarde,  peint 1805,
The Bowes Museum, Angleterre

 

 


Jean Louis Elshoecht (1760 - 1841) détail de croix de Picardie, peint 1805,
The Bowes Museum, Angleterre

 


croix en argent portée en Normandie
musée des traditions et arts normands, Martainville

 

 

La croix de Liesse

 

Depuis la douzième siècle la basilique de Liesse était un centre important de pèlerinage et Notre Dame de Liesse était très appréciée en Normandie et partout en France.  Au dix-huitième siècle, Monsieur Bailly, bijoutier à Liesse, en Picardie, exportait des nombreuses croix vers la Normandie.  Marguerite Bruneau dans son Histoire du Costume Populaire en Normandie, tome 1, détaille des dettes parfois considérables des bijoutiers normands envers Monsieur Bailly suite à leur faillite.  (1)

Nous connaissons très peu de choses sur la croix de Liesse.  De nombreux croix ont été exportées vers d’autres régions cependant aucune n'est mentionné sous l'appellation croix de Liesse dans les documents et testaments examinés.  Il est probable que des exemplaires de cette croix existent encore mais que ces croix soient connues sous un autre nom.  Un descriptif du dix-neuvième siècle de la croix de Liesse nous donne quelques indices : "qu’elle n’était qu’un mauvais estampage en 2 coquilles, dessus et dessous très mince.   Les chatons et les parties déliées étaient remplis de plâtre qui donnait de la rigidité et du poids.  Cette croix était de bas prix et se faisait presque exclusivement en argent.  On la fabriquait presque exclusivement à Paris."  (2)

Nous pouvons assumer que si les bijoutiers d’autres régions importaient ces croix, il y avait un avantage commercial pour l'artisan qui pouvait les fabriquer moins chères que ses clients.  C'est le cas pour une croix estampée, car le matériel requis pour la fabriquer est onéreux et nécessite de nombreux tirages pour être amorti.

 


médaille de Notre Dame de Liesse, bronze

 

 


médaille de Notre Dame de Liesse, or

 

 


croix de pelerin de Notre Dame de Liesse en bronze, verso
 
croix de pelerin de Notre Dame de Liesse en bronze, recto

 

 

Les seules croix en or ou en argent qui semblent remplir ces critères sont les croix papillons, les croix bosses et les croix picardes.  La première est effectivement trouvée dans d’autres régions de la France, même dans le sud, tandis que la croix picarde est certainement bon marché lorsqu'elle est fabriquée en argent et remplie de plâtre, cependant je n'ai pas encore trouvé des exemplaires hors de la Belgique et la Picardie.  Marguerite Bruneau, dans son livre Les Bijoux Normands, penche pour les croix bosses, qui sont aujourd'hui trouvées très occasionnellement dans d'autres régions. (3)  Le problème est que malgré le fait que plusieurs références parlent de croix bosses remplis de plâtre ou crin de cheval, je n'ai jamais rencontré une seule fourrée ainsi, et je crois que leur existence n'est qu'anecdotique.  Par exemple, aucune exemplaire dans la collection de la musée de Martainville n'est fourrée.  Toute information que vous avez pour résoudre ce mystère est la bienvenue.   PM

 

 
 

 


croix papillon
 en or, argent et diamants
 
 

 

 
 
 
croix flamande/picarde en
or et diamants taillés en rose
croix papillon
 en or, argent et diamants
  croix bosse en or   croix flamande/picarde en
or et diamants taillés en rose

 


 
 
Il est pourtant intéressant de noter l'évolution de la croix papillon flamande, dîte "croix à la Jeannette" avec le temps.  La troisième croix illustré ci-dessous a toute la forme de la croix picarde mais garde une version réduite de la partie haut et on voit que la croix suivante a un coulant dont la forme est basé juste sur le cône centrale de la partie haute de la croix précedante.  Peut-être il n'y a pas une seule croix de Liesse, mais une succession de croix qui ont changées pour suivre la mode......
 

croix papillon flamande, c1800-1840
 en or, argent et diamants

 


    croix papillon, c1800-1840
 en or, argent et diamants

 


croix dîte "provencale"
collection musée national
du château de Malmaison


croix picarde avec coulant,
or et diamants
taillés en table

croix de Picardie, or et
diamants
taillés en rose

 

 

L’histoire de Notre Dame de Liesse est fort intéressant, vous pouvez trouver le site de la basilique en cliquant ici.

 

(1): -  François Drouet, marchand orfèvre à Doudouville doit 1.177 livres (1789)
       -  Pierre Maloiselle, marchand bijoutier d'Ivril la Chausée doit 522 livres (1789)
       -  François Joutel, laboureur-bijoutier à Bretteville en Caux doit 1284 livres (1786)
       -  Vincent Coignard, marchand orfèvre bijoutier à Rouen doit 1284 livres (1786)
          9 UP2 à p6 Archives Départementales de la Seine Maritime

(2):   Lettre citée par E. Colin dans "Le mois à Caen".  8e année n°80.

(3):   BRUNEAU, Marguerite., Les bijoux normands, Cercle d'action et d'études normandes, 1976   

 

 

contenu:

Croix picarde, croix de Picardie, bijou régional, bijoux régionaux, Jean Louis Elshoecht, les bijoux traditionnels Français, bijoux des régions de France, croix de Rouen, croix bosse, croix régionale, croix papillon, croix à la Jeannette, croix flamande, bijoux picards, traditional French jewellery, jewelry, French regional jewellery, croix Jeannette, Marguerite Bruneau, croix de Liesse

 

 

Bijoux des régions de France - bijoux picards