Limousin

French regional jewellery - Limousin

 

 

The écotée cross of Limoges cro


 'ecotée' cross, gold, 19th century, Limoges region

 

The écotée cross of Limoges is unique with its arms bristling with small spikes and ending with its chiseled patterns reminiscent of the open tail of a flying bird. A Christ in relief above a very large crown of thorns decorates one side, Mary with child decorates the other while rays project from the centre of the cross. Three teardrop pendants are suspended from the arms.

The écotée cross has a form that evokes rough hewn wood, as a local belief thought it unlikely that the true cross would have been made of smoothly finished wood.  The three pendants represent the tears of Christ, who was said to have wept three times.  Michel Yvon says he saw an écotée cross with the hallmarks of Angoulême 1819-1838.  The ends of the écotée cross, which resemble the tail of a bird, caused it to be known locally as the Holy Spirit of Limoges.

 


 'ecotée' cross, gold-filled, 19th century, Limoges region

 

 


 'ecotée' cross, gold, 19th century, Limoges region

 

 

         
 'ecotée' cross, gold, 18th-19th century, Limoges region, front and back view

 

 

Limousine enamelled jewellery



Modern jewels garnished with Limoges enamels are of course sold somewhat throughout France however they are particularly popular in the Limousin region where they are worn proudly and thus they can be considered to be regional jewels.

 


 modern earrings in
gold and Limoges enamel


modern enamelled
pin from Limoges


 modern pendant in
gold and Limoges enamel

 

 


 modern pendant in gold and Limoges enamel

 

 

 

 Other Limousine jewellery

 

At the beginning of the nineteenth century, the women of the suburbs of Limoges wore long earrings formed by mother-of-pearl shells (lâ coquâ), wide rings and Holy Spirit pendants in gold (the écotée cross).

 

 

 


regional jewellery and costumes, Limousin

 

 


regional jewellery and costumes, Limousin

regional jewellery and costumes, Limousin

 

 


French folk costumes from the Creuse departement


BIJOUX REGIONAUX ANCIENS - BIJOU REGIONAL

contents :

French regional jewellery, jewelry : regional costumes : croix écotée : boucles d'oreilles Limousin : pendentif en émail de Limoges : bijou régional : bijoux des régions de France : les bijoux traditionnels français : bijoux limousins : bijoux émaillée : email de Limoges : bijoux régionaux : coiffe Limousin : coiffe Barbichet Limous - French regional and traditional jewellery- antieke zeeuwse streeksieraden in zeeland friesland - Brabantse klederdrachten en streeksieraden

 

French regional jewellery - Limousin

Limousin

 Limousin

 

Croix écotée

 


Croix ecotée, or

La croix écotée de Limoges est unique avec ses bras hérissés de petites pointes et terminés par des motifs ciselés rappelant la queue ouverte d’un oiseau qui vole. Un Christ en relief au-dessous d’une très grosse couronne d’épines décore une face, Marie à l’Enfant décore l’autre tandis que des faisceaux rayonnants jaillissent au croisement des bras. Trois pendeloques en forme de larmes sont accrochées aux bras.

La croix écotée a une forme qui représente une croix faite de bois brut, car la croyance locale était qu'il était peu probable que la Vraie Croix était en bois plané. Les trois pendentifs, en forme de larmes, rappellent que Jésus a pleuré trois fois. Michel Yvon dit avoir vu une croix écotée avec des poinçons d’Angoulême 1819-1838.  Les extrémités de la croix écotée, en forme de queue d'oiseau, ont fait qu'elle a été appelée en Limousin le Saint Esprit de Limoges.
 

 


Croix écotée, plaqué or

 

 


Croix écotée,  or

 

 

         
Croix écotée en or, recto - verso

 

 

 

Bijoux émaillés limousins



Les bijoux modernes en email de Limoges, bien que portés dans d'autres régions, sont particulièrement populaires dans le Limousin et peuvent être considérés comme des sortes de bijoux régionaux.


Boucles d'oreille, contemporain,
or et émail de Limoges


Epingle émaillé, contemporain,
or et émail de Limoges

 

 


Pendentif émaillé, contemporain,
or et émail de Limoges

     

 


 Pendentif émaillé, contemporain, or et émail de Limoges

 

 

 

Autres bijoux limousins

 

Au début du dix-neuvième siècle, les femmes de la banlieue de Limoges portaient des longues boucles d'oreille formées par des coquilles de nacre (lâ coquâ), les bagues larges et le Saint Esprit en or (la croix écotée).

  


Bijoux et costumes régionaux limousins - coiffe Barbichet

 

 


Bijoux et costumes régionaux limousins

Bijoux et costumes régionaux limousins

 

 


Costumes régionaux creusois

 

BIJOUX REGIONAUX ANCIENS - BIJOU REGIONAL

table des matières:

croix écotée : boucles d'oreille Limousin : pendentif en émail de Limoges : bijou régional : bijoux des régions de France - les bijoux traditionnels français - bijoux de France - bijoux limousins - bijoux émaillée - email de Limoges - bijoux régionaux : coiffe Limousin : coiffe Barbichet Limousin - croix Jeannette

 

 

Bijoux traditionnels Français - bijoux limousins