Centre and Loire valley

Centre and Loire valley

 

 

 

The Val de Loire cross

 


Val-de-Loire cross in gold

 

The Val-de-Loire cross is a double-sided Latin cross with fleur-de-lys ends and rays emanating from between the arms forming a square. On the obverse a figure of Christ, on the reverse, the Holy Mary.

 

              
Val-de-Loire cross in silver, hallmarked at Blois


 

 

 

The Anjou Jeannette cross

 


 Jeannette cross with pendants, Anjou region, gold plated

 

 

The cross Jeannette d'Anjou is a hollow Jeannette cross garnished with three faceted diamond pendants terminated by spheres. The unique shape of the pendants hanging from the Anjou Jeannette cross is probably based upon that of the three nails of the True Cross, the sphere at the tip perhaps representing a tear-drop. Below you can see how the nails were representeded on the engraving decorating an early 19th-century reliquary cross; the similarity is quite marked. 

 


nails from the crucifxion engraved on a silver reliquary cross

 


 Jeannette cross with pendants,
Anjou region, gold

 Jeannette cross with pendants,
Anjou region, gold

 Jeannette cross with pendants,
Anjou region, gold-plated and enamelled

 

 

 

 
 Jeannette cross with pendants,
Anjou region, gold
 
 Jeannette cross with pendants,
Anjou region, gold plated
 

 

 

 

The Anjou baton cross


 Baton cross with pendants, Anjou region, gold

 

The Anjou baton cross is a  basic baton cross garnished by three rhombus-shaped faceted pendants tipped with spheres.

 

 

 

The flat cross


18th century flat cross in silver

 

 

 

The Berry "jardinière" cross


Berry cross from Bourges region, in silver

 

The Berry “jardinière” cross is a hollow Latin cross garnished with three pendants which are either sbaped like drops or like faceted nails with spheres at the tips. The top of the cross is equipped with a suspension ring attached to either a simple loop or a fleur-de-lys motif. The faces are engraved with various motifs such as a sun, flowers, animals, objects of the Passion of Christ and acronyms such as AM, MA, AV or MHA. The cross is often suspended by two chains from a rectangular slide with truncated corners fitted with two flanges on the rear and engraved with the letters AM separated by a burning heart on the front.

 

         
Berry cross from Bourges region, in silver

 

 

 

         
Berry cross from the Bourges region, in gold

 

 

 

The faith ring

faith ring or fede ring, englarged 2X

 

These faith rings or fede rings, also called big-heart rings, are associated with Brittany but are in fact engagement rings of Vendée origin. In Brittany they were mostly adopted by sailors. In the 19th century the jeweler always offered the bride, at the time of purchase of the faith ring, a simple ring called a coral ring or coraline, to avoid wear of the wedding ring. By 1908 this custom still existed in some rare areas of the Vendée Maritime and Saint-Gilles but had disappeared at Les Sables d'Olonne. Lionel Bonnemère, in a conference in Paris in 1903, showed how these rings were exported and imitated in Congo by the natives of the country.

 

 

 

The ring "à l'Anglaise"


Vendee ring "à l'anglaise" in gold and glass

 

Vendéen ring called "à l'anglaise", very popular in the region. The rings exist in gold or silver, the rhinestones may be colored or colorless, and the two rhinestones shouldering the middle rhinestones, round or square. According to Lionel Bonnemère, "In Challans, there was once a local jewelery factory run by a man named Reguin, who has been dead for 16 years and used to make all types of of  marshland jewels, in other words worn by the inhabitants of the Vendée marshlands."

 

 

Ring "à la française"

 

                   
 'Bagues à la française' en or et strass

 

 

It should be noted that the moulds and dies used to make the French rings known as "bague à la Française", popular in Vendée and Normandy, were also used to make "poissarde" earrings, brooches and even some stick-pins.



 

 

Guimbarde brooches

 


Men's guimbarde brooch decorated with double hearts and used to hold the shirt closed, silver

 

 


illustration from 1903 showing how the guimbarde pin was used to close the shirt

 

         
men's heart-shaped guimbarde topped with a crown and pierced by an arrow, silver

 

 

 


men's heart-shaped guimbarde pin topped with a crown and a crucifix and pierced by an arrow, silver, 1798-1809

 


men's double heart-shaped guimbarde pin topped with a crown and a cross and pierced by an arrow, silver,

 

 


Vendéen brooch in stamped out and engraved silver

 

 


Vendéen stick-pin in stamped out and engraved silver


Chouan pendant in silver, modern

 

 

 

 

The Sablaise cameo ear pendants


gold shell cameo ear pendants popular at Les Sables d'Olonne, gold

 

The manufacture of these "Sablaise earrings" or "brisures", in gold set with small shell cameos, has long been the specialty of the town of Niort which supplied Les Sables-d'Olonne with these particular jewels. According to Lionel Bonnemère, these pendants were called "The portrait" and they replaced the old ear pendants set with a red or green stone.

 

 

                   
gold shell cameo ear pendants

 

 


paire of coiffe pins in gold, collected in Laval

 

 

 

 

The "chemisette" of Chartres

         
chemisette of Chartres, souvenir medal in brass of the Holy tunic (of Mary)

 

The cathedral of Chartres holds a much venerated relic purported to be the tunic worn by the Holy Mary.  The many pilgrims to the Chartres cathedral, one of the largest and finest gothic cathedrals in the world, enjoy buying a souvenir of this relic, known as a “chemisette de Chartres”, (little tunic of Chartres.) or "chemisette Notre-Dame"  These souvenirs can be in the form of a simple brass or silver tunic-shaped medal and even silver reliquaries.

 

 

 

Cape and coat catches

   
overcoat catch in engraved and openworked silver

 

 

Below is a selection of silver cape catches, collected in Tours, but which were all made in Paris. The manufacturers in Paris and Niort sold their goods all over France.

 

 

 

   
cape catch in stamped silver

 

 

    
cape catch in stamped and chiseled silver

 

   
cape catch in stamped and chiseled silver

 



 

 

 

 
Market gardener from Vendée with cape and silver cape clips

 

 

   
French regional jewellery - Touraine region

 

 

  

 

 

 
costumes from Guérande

   

 


French folk costume from Sables d'Olonne

 

 

 


French regional jewellery and costumes - coiffe d'Anjou

 

 


French regional jewellery and costumes - Les Sablaises

 

 


folk-costume worn by a salt harvester, Pays de la Loire region

 

 


folk-dress from Les Sables d'Olonne

 

 

 


Embroideries and jewellery from Brittany according to Racinet in La Costume Historique, 1888

double-click on any photo to see it in a much better resoluton

 

 

Contact me with your suggestions, corrections, photos, questions and comments!

 

contents:

Antoine Raspal - bijoux régionaux - bijoux des régions de France - bijoux provençaux - pentacrines - bague pentacrine - broche pentacrine - bague en corail - broche en corail croix Mistralienne - croix plate de Nice - collier d'Arles - croix Marie Antoinette - croix Capucine - costume provençal - costume Arlésienne - croix dévote - croix Jeannette d'Arles - Les bijoutiers d'étoiles de Saint Vincent de Digne par Viviane Hervois - Le bijou provençal : parures du quotidien et bijoux de fête - Les bijoux traditionnels français par Monique Poulenc et Anne-Michèle Margerie, , traditional French jewellery, jewelry, French regional jewellery- antieke zeeuwse streeksieraden in zeeland friesland - Brabantse klederdrachten en streeksieraden

 

Centre and Loire valley

Centre - Val de la Loire

Centre - Val de la Loire

 

 

Croix d'Angers

 

 
Croix d'Angers en or

 

 

La croix d’Angers est une petite croix plate avec un décor fruste de quelques lignes et courbes gravés sur le bras supérieur.  Trois pendeloques en forme de gouttes allongés ou de cylindres légèrement coniques sont suspendus des bras.

 

 

 

 
Croix d'Angers en or

 


 

Croix du Val-de-Loire

 

 


Croix de Val-de-Loire, or

 

La croix du Val-de-Loire est une croix latine biface avec des extrémités fleurdelisés et des faisceaux de rayons entre les bras formant un carré.  Sur l’avers le Christ, sur le revers la Sainte Marie.

 

 

              
Croix du Val-de-Loire en argent, poinçonné à Blois

 

 

 

Croix Jeannette d'Anjou

 

 


Croix Jeannette à pendeloques d'Anjou en plaqué orr

 

 

La croix Jeannette d'Anjou est une croix Jeannette creuse garnie de trois pendeloques losangées à facettes et terminées par des sphères.  La forme particulière des pendeloques suspendues à la croix Jeannette d’Anjou est probablement issue des trois clous de la Vraie Croix, la sphère à la pointe représentant peut-être une larme. Ci-dessous, vous pouvez voir un exemple de clous gravés sur une croix reliquaire du début du XIXe siècle ; la similitude est assez marquée.

 


Clous de la crucifixion gravées sur une croix reliquaire

 

 

 


Croix Jeannette à pendeloques d'Anjou en or

Croix Jeannette à pendeloques d'Anjou en or

Croix Jeannette à pendeloques, Anjou, plaqué or

 

 

 

 
Croix Jeannette à pendeloques d'Anjou en or
 
Croix Jeannette à pendeloques, Anjou, plaqué or

 
 


 


croix Jeannette à pendeloques,

Croix bâton d'Anjou


Croix bâton à pendeloques d'Anjou, en or

 

Croix bâton garnie par trois pendeloques losangées à facettes et terminées par des sphères.  Les pendeloques sont suspendues par des annelets.

 

 

 

 

Croix plate


Croix plate en argent, 18ème

 

 

 

Croix jardinière du Berry

 


Croix dite "jardinière" du Berry, région de Bourges, en argent

 

La croix jardinière du Berry est une croix latine creuse garnie de trois pendeloques en forme de goutte ou de clou facettée avec une boule à l'extrémité.  Le haut est muni d’un anneau de suspension attaché soit à un autre anneau, soit à un motif en forme de fleur de lys.  Les faces sont gravées de divers motifs comme un soleil, des fleurs, des animaux, des objets de la Passion du Christ et des acronymes tels que AM, MA, AV ou MHA.  La croix est souvent suspendue par deux chaînettes à une plaque-coulant rectangulaire à pans coupés munie de deux brides au dos et gravée des lettres AM séparés par un cœur brulant.

         
Croix dite "jardinière" du Berry, région de Bourges, en argent

 

 

         
Croix dite "jardinière" du Berry, région de Bourges, en or

 

 

 

Bague de foi

Bague de foi (Foy), or, agrandi 2X

 

Ces bagues-foi, également nommées bagues gros-cœur sont associées avec le Bretagne mais sont en fait des bagues de fiançailles d’origine Vendéenne. En Bretagne elles étaient surtout adoptées par des matelots. Au 19ème siècle le bijoutier donnait toujours, en même temps à la fiancée, à titre gratuit, un petit anneau, dite bague de corail ou coraline, pour éviter le frottement avec l’alliance. Vers 1908 cet usage existait encore dans quelques rares coins de la Vendée maritime et à Saint-Gilles mais avait disparu des Sables d’Olonne. Lionel Bonnemère, dans une conférence à Paris en 1903, a montré comment ces bagues ont été exportées et imitées en Congo par les naturels du pays. 

 

                   
Trois bagues de foi vendéenne en argent et verre
ces trois bagues sont des rares témoins de l'évolution entre la bague de foi et la bague vendéenne traditionnelle

 

 

 

Bague vendéenne

 


Bague vendéenne "à l'anglaise" en or et verre

 

Bague vendéenne dite "à l'anglaise" populaire dans la région.  En or ou en argent, les strass peuvent être de couleur ou incolorés, et les deux strass épaulant le strass du milieu, ronds ou carrées.  Selon Lionel Bonnemère, " Il y a eu autrefois à Challans une fabrique de bijoux locaux dirigée par un nommé Reguin, mort depuis 16 ans.  On y faisait tous les types de bijoux « maraîchins », autrement dit portés par les habitants du marais vendéen."

 

 

 

La bague "à la française"

 

                   
 Bagues 'à la française' en or et strass

 

 

On remarque que les moules et matrices utilisées pour fabriquer les bagues à la française, populaires en Vendée et en Normandie, servaient également à fabriquer des boucles d'oreille poissardes, des broches et même certaines épingles.

 

 

 

 

Epingle guimbarde

 


Epingle guimbarde masculin annulaire orné de cœurs, en argent

 

 


Façon de porter l'épingle guimbarde (document de 1903)

 

         
Epingle guimbarde masculin en forme de cœur surmonté d'une couronne et percé d'une flèche, en argent

 

 

 


Epingle guimbarde vendéenne masculin en forme de cœur couronné et surmonté d'une croix, en argent, 1798-1809

 


Epingle guimbarde masculin en forme double cœur couronné et surmonté d'une croix, en argent

 

 


Broche vendéen en argent découpée, ajourée et gravée

 

 


Epingle vendéen en argent découpée, ajourée et gravée


Pendentif Chouan, argent, moderne

 

 

 

Pendants d'oreille "brisures" des Sables d'Olonne

 
Pendants d'oreille or et camé
e populaires avec les Sablaises

 

La fabrication de ces "anneaux sablais" ou "brisures", en or sertis avec des petites camées coquille, a longtemps été la spécialité de Niort qui approvisionnait Les Sables-d'Olonne avec ces bijoux particuliers. Selon Lionel Bonnemère, on appelait ces pendants "Le portrait" et ils ont remplacés les anciens pendants sertis d'une pierre rouge ou verte.

 

                   
Pendants d'oreille or et camée

 


Paire d'épingles à coiffe en or, collecté à Laval

 

 

 

"Chemisette" de Chartres

         
Chemisette de Chartres, médaille souvenir de la Sainte tunique (de Marie)

 

La cathédrale de Chartres abrite une relique très vénérée, supposée être la tunique portée par la Sainte Marie. Les nombreux pèlerins de la cathédrale de Chartres, une des plus grandes et des plus belles cathédrales gothiques du monde, achètent un souvenir de cette relique, connue sous le nom de « chemisette de Chartres ». Ces souvenirs peuvent être une simple médaille en laiton ou en argent en forme de tunique et même de reliquaires en argent.

 

 

 

Agrafes

 

   
Agrafe de manteau en argent découpé et gravé

 

 

 


 
Maraîchine vendéenne avec mante et capote, notez les agrafes en argent

 

 

Voici une sélection d'agrafes de cape en argent, collectées à Tours, mais qui ont toutes été fabriquées à Paris.   Les fabricants d'agrafes et crochets de Paris et Niort vendaient leurs marchandises partout en France.

 

 

   
Agrafe de cape en argent estampé

 

 

    
Agrafe de cape en argent, estampé et ciselé

 

   
Agrafe de cape en argent, estampé et ciselé

 

 

 

"Chemisette" de Chartres

         
Chemisette de Chartres, médaille souvenir de la Sainte tunique (de Marie)

 

La cathédrale de Chartres abrite une relique très vénérée, supposée être la tunique portée par la Sainte Marie. Les nombreux pèlerins de la cathédrale de Chartres, une des plus grandes et des plus belles cathédrales gothiques du monde, achètent un souvenir de cette relique, connue sous le nom de « chemisette de Chartres ». Ces souvenirs peuvent être une simple médaille en laiton ou en argent en forme de tunique et même de reliquaires en argent.

 

 

 
Les sablaises

 

 

 

Bijoux et costumes régionaux - Les Sablaises

 

 

 


Bijoux régionaux - Touraine -pays de la Loire

 

 

 

         
Coiffe et costumes - Guérande

 


 


Bijoux et costumes régionaux - coiffe d'Anjou

 

 

 


Costume de fête de paludière

 

 


Costume des Sables d'Olonne

 

 


Broderies et objets de parure des paysans bretons selon Racinet dans La Costume Historique, 1888

cliquez sur les photos pour les agrandir en haute résolution

 

 

Contactez-moi avec vos suggestions, corrections, photos, questions et commentaires !

 

contents:

Antoine Raspal - bijoux régionaux - bijoux des régions de France - bijoux provençaux - pentacrines - bague pentacrine - broche pentacrine - bague en corail - broche en corail croix Mistralienne - croix plate de Nice - collier d'Arles - croix Marie Antoinette - croix Capucine - costume provençal - costume Arlésienne - croix dévote - croix Jeannette d'Arles - Les bijoutiers d'étoiles de Saint Vincent de Digne par Viviane Hervois - Le bijou provençal : parures du quotidien et bijoux de fête - Les bijoux traditionnels français par Monique Poulenc et Anne-Michèle Margerie, , traditional French jewellery, jewelry, French regional jewellery- antieke zeeuwse streeksieraden in zeeland friesland

 

Centre - Val de la Loire